Tennessee May Soon Require Drunken Drivers to Victims’ Children
If the driver is convicted of driving under the influence and, as a result, caused the death of a parent of a minor, “then the sentencing court must order the defendant to pay restitution in the form of child maintenance to each of the victim’s children until each child reaches 18 years of age and has graduated from high school, or the class of which the child is a member when the child reached 18 years of age has graduated,” the bill reads.
I will do what it takes to protect the future of our most valuable resources, our children,” Representative Mark Hall, who introduced the bill, said in a statement.
Tennessee lawmakers in both the Senate and House passed a tough new bill that seeks financial restitution from DUI offenders whose actions result in the death of a parent or guardian.
As I promised,
WREG spoke with two Memphis lawmakers, Rep. G.A. Hardaway (D) Memphis and Rep. Mark White (R) Memphis, about the message they hope to send to the publicTennesseans care for each other and we will do everything in our power to hold people accountable who chose to do harm,” he added.
The bill includes the names of the children of Nicholas Galinger, a Chattanooga police officer who was struck and killed three years ago by a drunken driver. He is survived by two children, Ethan and Haile.
You’ll have individuals who might be thinking about making the law in this way…might be thinking about it will look at those examples and say it’s wrong. It’s not just about the legalities, but it’s about the moralities,” Rep. Hardaway said
The 38-year-old officer was inspecting an overflowing manhole late one night in February 2019 when Janet Hinds hit him with her car and fled, according to The Associated Press. Ms. Hinds was sentenced to 11 years in prison in February after being convicted of vehicular homicide by intoxication.